CONFESSIONS OF A SCRAPAHOLIC

…IT’LL BE OUR LITTLE SECRET…

Hippity hop…

Posted by Catherine on April 8, 2009

…I hear the bunny hoppin’ ever closer with every day that passes!!!

…and he’ll be bringing this for my HUBBY!

*LOL* I swear I tried not to make this too girly, but I am very bad at masculine like things, so I just finished it off whichever way I wanted.  Bart will be looking at what’s inside anyway! 

I will post an updated picture of what this will look like when it’s finished, but basically, this isn’t your normal kind of card.  Instead of making on single fold in the middle to make the usual card, I put two score lines down the middle about an inch apart from each other and folded those down so that it leaves some space inside the card when folded.  You can’t see if but if you look up at the top of the card, the top is actually flat.

I was planning on putting a sentiment on the inside of the card to be seen when the card is closed, but instead I found a cute, sort of flat chocolate bunny that I will be sticking to the inside of the card to “peek” out of the window.  (Marti thought I was just Nestability crazy and couldn’t resist putting an oval cut-out in the card! HAHAHAHA, partly true!)  So I will post that up tonight as I wasn’t able to really put it all together because Bart was unusually hanging over my shoulder.  I swear, I think that man could smell the chocolate I was hiding! *LOL*

Anywho, I just used my plain ol’ cardstock and randomly stamped my little swirly Sprinkled background lightly in Rich Cocoa Memento ink.  I pop-dotted my awning up and also glued on my grungeboard flourish and went crazy with Perfect Pearl mist (which we will be talking about in tomorrow’s April Spotlight!).  I just LOOOVE how Perfect Pearls can make a plain white cardstock card MORE in two seconds flat!  I used two mini misters for this and mixed in Gold Perfect Pearls and water in one and Pink Perfect Pearls and water in the other and just took turns spritzing.  Thank goodness the pink is very sheer and subtle.  I’m not sure how Bart would really like a pink chocolate holder card no matter how much chocolate is in it! *LOL* Metrosexual, he aint, so no pink for that man!

I coloured my Chocolate Treat in with Copics (of course!) and took my Versamark PEN (AWWWWESOME THING that you will get to meet during Spotlight) and coloured in the entire “cake” part and sprinkled Distress Embossing powder and heat set for that gritty textured  kind of cake look…I used my Stickles for a fabulous sparkly filling and my Glossy Accents to make my candy topping shiny and sumptuous!  Heck, talking about this is making me want to EAT! HAHAHAHA…

That’s it for me today!  I kept the card pretty simple and added the bow near the end, right before I took the picture.  The simple stamping and the Perfect Pearl misting was very easy to get together and does NOT require much cleanup (if at all, you can store your solution of Perfect Pearls and water in the mister for a while!) and it still gives a look of more even though not a lot of products were used!

Please check back with me tomorrow for a continuation of our introduction to Perfect Pearls and some basic tutorials to get you started!  In the meantime, happy PDD Wednesday and happy hump day – long weekend, I’m comin’!

MATERIALS
All hyperlinked products and materials are from Pez-a-Doodle Designs

Stamps: Polkadot Pie Chocolate Treats 2, Polkadot Pie Sprinkled Background
Ink: Memento Ink in Rich Cocoa
Embellishment: Perfect Pearls in Interference Red and Heirloom Gold, Flourish Grungeboard, Stickles, Glossy Accents, Distress Embossing Powder
Tools: MS Punch, Foam ink blending tool, Versamark Pen, Mini Misters

CURRENT MOOD: CURRENTLY LISTENING TO:

5 Responses to “Hippity hop…”

  1. Cheryl said

    I love the treat you colored!!! I know your hubby will love it, and yes they do only read whats on the inside and that is what matters…lol

    great job!!!!!

  2. Sandie said

    ooooooooooooh, love it!!!! Can’t wait to see the updated pic with the yummy candy 😉 That stamped image looks good enough to eat 😀

  3. Anita said

    Beautiful card! I like how you made your own background.

  4. Tammy said

    Great idea of cutting the front out of the card. You can really personalize the card that way. I love the colors that you used. It can definately be used for a male 🙂

  5. Michelle said

    Hmmm…not really sure how this card works…so you MUST post the final version! I just see big ol’ hole – LOL It’s pretty though – love the sheen ribbon on top with the rainbowness. I just bought that border punch on vacation – gotta use it!

Leave a Reply

 
